I see lots of things

I see things.

I’ve seen children of means doing demeaning things.
And sons of poverty who spread their wings.

I’ve seen grown men beg for life,
And children throw it away to avoid a little strife.

I’ve seen grandiose homes with filth and grime,
And homeless camps that pristinely shine.

I have seen some men tell the truth.
I’ve seen more lie despite the proof.

I’ve seen sorrow and courage,
Calm and rage.

I’ve seen precious little contentment and plenty of resentment.

I’ve heard women scream as I stand at their door,
Because I’ve come to tell them they aren’t mothers anymore.

I’ve seen bad men get their due,
And self righteous ones who have no clue.

I’ve seen lots of things as a police man.
Some things others never can.

3 thoughts on “I see lots of things

  1. Wow this was a really amazing poem. Written so well. My favorite line was the one about men begging for their lives and children committing suicide, very nicely done. You’ve got my follow. Check out my comedy blog and give it a follow if you like it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

